Quote of the Week

image

“Is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’, or ‘cruel’? Not to me.” ~J.K. Rowling (author of the Harry Potter series)

I love this quote, and not just because I am a fat girl. I am the kind of person who likes to see people for their intentions and their true characteristics, not based on appearance. Being called fat is just another form of discrimination. Some of the kindest, most caring people I know are fat. And, to me, this quote does not just apply to fat people, but all stereotypes in general. We need to learn, as a society, to accept people based on their true qualities, not by what they have or what they wear. My brother has longer hair, wear classic rock t-shirts, and smokes, and yet he is a wonderful father of a 7 month old son who he spends all his free time caring for. But most people just see him as a druggie redneck dropout. We need to put an end to judging others based on their appearance. I am just as at fault, because I don’t even accept myself as equal because of my waist size. In order for others to follow, I need to take the first step. If we all take one step towards reformation, that is one step in the right direction that may even lead to a journey of self-discovery and a new perspective of others. We are all good people, who all make mistakes every once in a while. But those mistakes make us equally human.

Senior Year

image

Well, what can I say? It has been one heck of a school year. Senior year, the top dogs of the school. Luckily I have been blessed with many wonderful opportunities that have given me memories which I will cherish for the rest of my life. For those of you who were wondering, Senioritis is very real and may randomly spread in a matter of seconds. I have a bad case of Senioritis, in which I have absolutely no motivation to stay on task and complete my assignments. However, it only affects you depending on how you control it. If you let it consume your work ethic, it may alter your graduation plans; so the best thing to do would be to work hard, but also allow yourself some time to relax and unwind from the crazy senior events. Hopefully, I can work past it for enough time to pass my college finals.

Participating in the Early College program is one of the best decisions I have made in my education. The Early College program is a way for high school students to take college classes and earn credit. It has allowed me to grow as an individual, both personally and academically. The teachers support their students and encourage them to commit their very best work. The students are accepting and become like an extended family. The classes are challenging, but with support and hard work a student in the program may achieve an Associates degree. I am proud to claim to be an Early College student. The students in the program are like my family, and have made these past four years unforgettable.

Through extensive coursework, I have also enjoyed many clubs and activities that have helped me grow in leadership. For the past 4 years, I have been in student government and have actively participated in school events. My friend and I designed the senior class t-shirt, and I was elected treasurer my senior year. I was also elected as a board member for NHS, served as an honorary member in Interact Club (Rotary), and the editor of Key Club (Kiwanis). Other fun clubs I have enjoyed are ping-pong club, Spanish Club, and Photography Club. I am currently planning two big senior events: Senior Celebration and the Early College Recognition night. Also, I must speak at graduation, which is a bit intimidating, but I’m always up for a challenge. I have been blessed with so many opportunities to get involved, be active, make new friends, lead others, and give back to my community.

Although I am excited to be moving on in my life, going to Hanover College, taking on more responsibility; I will definitely miss my times at Center Grove High School. The people there are my family, and we have made memories together that I will cherish forever.