“Mommie Dearest”

I don’t what I did to deserve you in my life
Crying, laughter, anger
Every step of the way, you were there
To light my way into the shadowy future
Like the beacon of your lighthouse
Guiding my boats safely into harbor
I don’t know how you are the sturdy wooden stilts
Keeping my house above water after the hopeless hurricane
Even though it means getting your feet wet
I don’t know how you are the strong storm cellar
Shielding me from the shrapnel and wreckage the tornado brings
Bringing me into your shelter, your comforting safety
I don’t know how you encompass me like the sun
Surrounding me by your warmth, which radiates from your heart
Greeting me every morning with a bright smile
Wishing me rest, leaving me with an array of beautiful dreams
I don’t know what I would do without you
And I hope to never find out

Leave a comment